The five types of insomnia are as follows:

  1. Acute insomnia
  2. Chronic insomnia
  3. Onset insomnia
  4. Maintenance insomnia
  5. Behavioral insomnia of childhood

Insomnia is defined as repeated difficulty with sleep initiation, maintenance, consolidation, or quality that occurs despite adequate time and opportunity for sleep, and that results in some form of daytime impairment.

Read More